Many Australians have held more than one superannuation account. A job in your twenties, a change of employer, a fund chosen for you when you started somewhere new: each account may have carried insurance, because super accounts commonly come with a package of death cover and total and permanent disability cover, usually shortened to TPD.
When illness or injury stops someone working for good, that history turns into a practical question. Where cover sits in multiple super funds, is there one claim or three? And if one fund has already paid, can the others still be asked?
The short answer is that each fund’s cover is its own arrangement, assessed under its own policy and decided by the trustee of that fund. Nothing in the superannuation rules caps the number of funds a person may claim from. What decides each outcome is that policy’s wording and that trustee’s view of the medical evidence.
Why one person ends up with cover in several funds
Superannuation cover is not usually something a member goes out and buys. It arrives with the account, which is how people end up paying several sets of premiums without ever deciding to.
So a person in their forties can hold cover in three or four funds, on policies issued by different insurers, with different sums insured and different definitions. That is not duplication in the sense that only one policy can respond. TPD cover in super is not an indemnity against a measurable loss; it is a benefit payable when a defined event occurs.
The first step is therefore an audit rather than a claim. Identify every fund you have belonged to, ask each in writing for the insurance schedule and the policy wording in force when you stopped work, and keep the answers. A fund that says there was no cover should be asked when it ended and why.
Each fund answers the question itself
There is a statutory floor under all of this. Under the Superannuation Industry (Supervision) Regulations 1994 (Cth), reg 4.07D(2) provides that a trustee of a regulated superannuation fund must not provide an insured benefit unless the insured event is consistent with a condition of release in item 102, 102A, 103 or 109 of Schedule 1. Those four items are death, terminal medical condition, permanent incapacity and temporary incapacity. TPD cover exists because of item 103.
Permanent incapacity is defined in reg 1.03C. A member is taken to be suffering it if “a trustee of the fund is reasonably satisfied that the member’s ill-health (whether physical or mental) makes it unlikely that the member will engage in gainful employment for which the member is reasonably qualified by education, training or experience”.
Read that definition closely and the multi-fund answer is inside it. The decision belongs to a trustee of the fund, and the standard is that the trustee is reasonably satisfied. The question is therefore asked fund by fund. A second fund will have its own policy, often a different insurer, and a definition that may be narrower than reg 1.03C or differently expressed, and its trustee has to be satisfied on its own view of the evidence. Two funds can reach opposite conclusions on the same medical file without either being wrong. That does not change where the same corporate trustee happens to run both, because the covenant and the definition attach to the fund.
The floor is not universal either. Regulation 4.07D(3)(a) takes the restriction out of the picture for the continued provision of benefits to members who joined a fund before 1 July 2014, so a long-standing membership can still carry cover written around an older definition.
What actually differs from policy to policy
Putting the documents side by side turns a vague sense of having had insurance into a decision about where to lodge. Four things are worth comparing.
| What to compare | Why it changes the answer |
|---|---|
| The disability definition | Some policies test your own occupation, some any occupation you are suited to, and some use an activities of daily living test for members without recent work history. |
| Waiting period and date of disablement | These fix the moment at which the question is asked. Funds can use different periods, so the assessment date can differ between policies for the same illness. |
| Sum insured and age scaling | Default cover often reduces with age and can drop sharply at set birthdays. The figure on an old statement may not be the figure that applied. |
| Offset or reduction clauses | Some policies reduce what they pay by reference to other benefits. Where recovery across several funds is limited, it is a clause of this kind that does it rather than any statutory bar. |
Getting paid involves two decisions, not one
A TPD benefit in super travels a two-step path, and the second step surprises people. The insurer assesses the claim against the policy and, if it accepts, pays the benefit to the trustee rather than to the member. The money lands inside the fund. It can only leave the fund once the member has satisfied a condition of release. Schedule 1 lists a number of them, and a member who has already met another, such as retirement or attaining age 65, has unrestricted access on that footing; for a disability claim the relevant condition is ordinarily item 103, permanent incapacity, as defined by reg 1.03C.
In practice the two tests are aligned, because reg 4.07D(2) requires the insured event to be consistent with the condition of release. They are still not the same decision and not made by the same body. The trustee must form its own view, and where a policy is wider than reg 1.03C an insurer’s acceptance will not necessarily carry the release with it.
Tax is settled fund by fund as well. Under the Income Tax Assessment Act 1997 (Cth) s 307-145, where a superannuation lump sum is a disability superannuation benefit, the tax free component is increased by a formula running on the days from when the person stopped being capable of gainful employment to their last retirement day, over the days in the service period for that lump sum. Because the service period belongs to the fund paying, the same sum out of two funds is not necessarily taxed alike.
The cover you may no longer hold
Three provisions of the Superannuation Industry (Supervision) Act 1993 (Cth) switch default cover off, and between them they explain most of the conversations that begin “I thought I was insured”.
Under s 68AAA, a trustee must ensure insurance is not provided where the account has been inactive for that product for a continuous period of 16 months and the member has not elected in writing to keep it. Inactive means the trustee has received no amount at all in respect of the member for that product during the period, so it is not confined to a gap in employer contributions, and any amount received resets the clock. Under s 68AAB, cover goes where the balance for the product is under $6,000 and has not reached $6,000 on or after 1 November 2019, again absent a written election. Under s 68AAC, members under the age of 25 have no default cover unless they elect to take it. All three carry narrow exclusions, including for defined benefit members and for some Defence Force members; the low-balance and under-25 rules also except certain dangerous occupations, and the inactive-account rule does not.
One saving provision is easy to miss and often decisive. Section 68AAA(7) says nothing in the section affects a right of a member that exists because of premiums paid before the cover ceased. Cancellation operates forward. If the insured event occurred while the cover was still running, the later switching off does not by itself dispose of the claim. That makes the date the policy treats as relevant worth pinning down precisely. It is commonly a date of disablement rather than simply the last day worked, and the two are not always the same.
Claiming again, after a decline and after a return to work
Two versions of “again” come up. The first is a further claim on a fund that has already said no. A decline is a decision on the material before the decision-maker at the time, so a more complete file, or later evidence that bears on the member’s condition at the policy’s assessment date, can support a fresh look. A deterioration that sets in only afterwards is a different question. It goes to whether there is a new insured event, which depends on the cover still being in force and on the policy’s terms. Whether a fund must reconsider at all is a question of the policy and the trust deed. Under the Corporations Act 2001 (Cth) s 1053(1)(a), a complaint that a superannuation trustee has made a decision about a particular member that is or was unfair or unreasonable is a superannuation complaint in the external dispute resolution scheme, and s 1053(5) puts it beyond doubt that a trustee makes a decision even where it fails to make one. Sitting on a file is itself reviewable. Time limits apply and differ between complaint types. That section does not set them, so check the scheme’s current rules early rather than assume.
The second is a claim after returning to work. Most disability definitions fix the assessment at a point in time, commonly the end of a waiting period, and ask whether the member was then unlikely ever to return to suitable work. A later return to work is evidence going to that question, but it is not automatically an answer to it. It also matters which policy is being asked, because a fund whose cover had already lapsed is answering a question about an earlier date.
What the fund and the insurer owe you
A member is not a bystander to the fund’s dealings with its insurer, and neither is the trustee. Under s 52(7)(d), every trustee covenants “to do everything that is reasonable to pursue an insurance claim for the benefit of a beneficiary, if the claim has a reasonable prospect of success”. Section 52(1) writes that covenant into the governing rules whether or not the trust deed contains it. A trustee that passes on a declinature without testing it is not obviously meeting that obligation.
On the insurer’s side, under the Insurance Contracts Act 1984 (Cth) s 13, a contract of insurance is based on the utmost good faith and each party must act towards the other with utmost good faith in any matter arising under or in relation to it. Section 13(3) provides that a reference to a party includes a third party beneficiary, which is the capacity in which a fund member ordinarily stands to a group policy. That duty governs how a claim is handled, not only whether it is paid.
One limit on that is worth stating plainly, because it is often assumed the other way. The direct statutory right of a third party beneficiary to recover from an insurer covers contracts of general insurance, and contracts of life insurance only where the policy is connected with a retirement savings account. Ordinary group life cover held by a fund trustee is outside both, so that particular statutory shortcut is not available to a member, and a claim is pursued through the trustee. That is a statement about one route rather than about every right a member might have, and it is why the trustee’s own covenant matters so much.
Published 14 September 2026.
Where this leaves you
Holding cover in several funds is common, and the superannuation legislation does not treat it as a problem to be solved by picking one. It fixes the insurable events, leaves the wording to the policies, and gives each trustee its own decision on its own evidence. The work therefore sits in the documents: which funds, which definitions, which dates, and whether the cover was on foot when it mattered. Current text of the Act and the regulations is on the Federal Register of Legislation.
Related reading
- TPD claims through superannuation in Queensland: how the process works
- How Fraser Lawyers helps with superannuation and TPD claims
- Contact Fraser Lawyers
Need advice? Cover held across several funds is easy to lose track of, and each fund runs its own process on its own timing. If this is your situation, contact Fraser Lawyers to understand your rights and where you stand, with no obligation. |
This article is general information only and is not legal advice. Queensland law and the figures referred to can change, and every situation turns on its own facts. Contact Fraser Lawyers for advice specific to your circumstances.
If you would like to discuss your matter, you can book a consultation or call (07) 5554 6116.


